Watermelon becomes margarita!

instagram watermelonI was part of a group dinner earlier this week.  Given the heat, I really didn’t want to be in my kitchen, so I took the easy way out and bought a small, seedless watermelon to take to the gathering.  I wasn’t the only person to have this idea which means I came home with some leftover melon.  I figured I’d be more likely to get through it if I juiced some of it for a beverage over the next couple of days.  It still meant I took a fair amount of it in my lunch for “normal” eating.

PhotoGrid_1405099369324

I used my smoothie/mini blender to pulverize the watermelon.  I could have left it a bit pulpy, but I did make the effort to strain it through a small hand sieve.  I pushed the liquid through and scraped off the bottom of the sieve to capture all of the yummy goodness.  When I was done, I had about half of a quart jar full of watermelon “juice.”  I put it in the fridge and nearly forgot about it.  This was Tuesday night.

Last night I was getting ready to pour my usual diet soda when I spotted the watermelon juice.  I knew it couldn’t be good for too much longer so I decided to improvise myself a watermelon margarita.

For about a pint of watermelon juice, I added:

  • 1 shot of tequila
  • 1/2 shot of cointreau (orange liqueur)
  • juice of one whole lime
  • 1/2 shot of maple syrup (easier than making simple syrup and dissolves better than agave)

I put the cap back on the jar, gave everything a good shake, and poured it over ice.  I could have salted the rim of the glass, but it didn’t seem important to me to take that step so I skipped it.  It was not too alcohol-y and the watermelon was pretty refreshing at the end of a hot day.

IMG_20140710_192233880 IMG_20140710_192634481

 

Leave a Reply

