The soup of normal life

IMG_20140721_192914266_HDRYesterday was my first day back at work after my week of delirious illness.  I am still struggling with the whole cooking and eating thing, but I know I just have to get back to doing it until if feels normal again.  We’ve had some lovely summer squash and a favorite vegetable, kohlrabi, so I decided to make summer bisque.  IMG_20140721_185710300_HDRThe idea is to get everything to cook in about the same time.  A chopped kohlrabi cooks a bit longer than a potato would which is much longer than summer squash, so I made some strategic decisions.

  • a very small onion, chopped into pretty small pieces
  • 2 green onions, chopped a bit large (normally added at the end, I wanted a few for summer flavor/feel)
  • 2 cloves of fresh garlic, minced/pressed
  • 1 bulb of kohlrabi, peeled and then grated (grating ensures it will cook quickly!)
  • 1 large summer squash, chopped

I put all of this into a pan with a bit of olive oil and let it saute for a bit.  To this, I added enough chicken broth just to cover and then herbs/seasoning.PhotoGrid_1406059557026

Sometimes when I make this, I season it with nutmeg which is a nice complement to summer squash.  Because I had a little basil and my thyme is going wild in my garden, I decided to do these summer herbs instead along with salt and pepper.  I added the thyme with the broth since it only needs to cook about 10 minutes.  Once everything is tender, I took it off the heat, pulsed it with my immersion blender, and then added the basil.  It’s already “creamy” from the vegetables, but you could add some cream if you wanted.  I had it as it was with just a little olive oil and more pepper on top.

IMG_20140721_192907417_HDRBeautiful.  Summery.  Normal.  All the things I needed.

*****

Quick bonus tip:  Sometimes I take soups for lunch but they just don’t feel hearty enough.  My trick is to stir in a tablespoon of couscous into the container before I pack my soup.  If the soup is still warm, it softens the couscous.  Even if the soup is cold, it softens the couscous by lunch the next day.  It gives what might have seemed a little thin a bit of heartiness on days when lunch can feel skimpy.

IMG_20140721_193018952_HDR IMG_20140721_193059267_HDR

Leave a Reply

