Summer succotash

072Succotash is NOT one of those foods I grew up eating.

For one thing, I hated lima beans.  Even in adulthood where I’ve come to embrace most foods I found challenging to my childhood palate, lima beans (and those loathsome white, broad flat dry beans my mom still insists on cooking with ham hocks all day!  ICK!!!!!!) still remains a food to be avoided.  Probably a year or so ago I ran across a recipe for a succotash made with edamame or frozen soy beans.  Edamame I like.  Love even.  So I decided to give the recipe a try and since it was the first time, I made it as directed.  I think I used frozen corn and frozen, shelled edamame, so it came together pretty fast.  It was delicious.  I felt a little silly for avoiding the whole concept of succotash since it’s essentially corn and some other green vegetable.

My farm folks have been very generous to me, giving me extras of things without making me pay.  I decided to reciprocate with a good bottle of whiskey, and they immediately gave me more stuff.  I had lots of ears of corn and extra peppers so it was time to get in the kitchen.  I wanted a way to use nothing but veggies from the farm, so instead of frozen edamame, I decided to use green beans and summer squash (something like a zucchini, but with a light green and white skin called “Magda“).

If you’re using frozen corn and frozen edamame, it comes together in minutes.  Using raw vegetables, it takes a bit longer, but it’s still pretty fast.  It’s best, in my opinion, if you get everything prepped before you ever start cooking because if you chop and try to cook as you go — the way I do most of my cooking — you end up with mushy veggies that over cook.

In one bowl, I had the things that would go into the pot first:  chopped peppers (we had some yellow and some purple)PhotoGrid_1407795591122, chopped green beans, minced garlic, chopped onions (we’ve had small purple and white ones from the farm) and a shallot.  In the second bowl, I had all of the corn removed from the cobs and the chopped Magda squash.  In a final small bowl, I had basil I had rolled up like a cigar and cut into thin strips (chiffonade).

PhotoGrid_1407795861419I was ready to start.  In a pretty good size pan (I had lots more veggies than were called for in the original recipe), you add a few glugs of olive oil.  Once it comes to heat, pour in the contents of the first bowl (peppers, beans, onions, etc.) and a bit of salt to get it sweating.  I cooked it until the peppers and onions were starting to look a bit soft (maybe about 5 minutes or so).  Then I added in a bit of wine (more than 1/4 cup but less than 1/2 cup), some dry thyme (not in the original recipe but I love it), and the contents of bowl two (corn, squash).  I then let it cook until the squash was tender.  Once it was, everything else, including the green beans were done.  I took it off the heat, added the basil and then salt and pepper to taste.

063I had been a victim of the sampling at Costco recently and had purchased a ready-made ravioli filled with tomato and burrata cheese.  To keep things simple, I cooked up a few of the ravioli and added my succotash as the “sauce.”  It was very summer-y and it felt good to be eating a dish that had all farm veggies from my friends.

071

Leave a Reply

