Dutch baby for one, please

image

Ah, Saturday.

It’s been a super busy week and I’ve been a little distracted at home. Lots of missing items on shopping trips. Like bread. Or soy milk. An uh oh becomes inspiration. A dutch baby! I have flour, eggs, sugar. I can substitute in half and half for milk. Vanilla.

But how to do it for one?

While deciding, I preheated the oven to 350. When it hit temperature, I put in my pan to preheat and raised the temp to 400.

I looked at a couple of recipes in my book and decided to try this ratio all based on starring with one egg.
image

1 egg
1/4 cup flour
A tablespoon of sugar
A pinch or so of salt
A splash of vanilla
Enough milk (half in half) to make it pretty runny

Once in the bowl, I stirred. Easy.

image

At this point, I put a little more than a tablespoon of butter in the pan and put it in the hot oven to melt and brown a little. I then took the pan out, quickly added in my batter and put it back in the oven.

image

Then you wait. Not sure on time, I set my timer for 15 minutes.  And drank some coffee. And drafted this post.

The result? Success!  It’s still probably more than one person should eat alone, but it smells heavenly. I can’t get over how lovely it looks and how delicious it tastes.

image

Who needs to remember to buy bread??

Leave a Reply

