Peach-tastic cake!

If you’ve read any of this blog at all this summer, you’ll know I had a near disaster earlier this summer and then a success with a buttermilk cake recipe from Epicurious. Originally made with raspberries, I’ve instead made it with strawberries, blueberries, a combination of strawberries and blueberries, and now peaches.

The recipe is great, but in the original, I overcooked it using the suggested 25 minutes. For my oven, 20-22 seems to be the magic range.

IMG_20140821_184512

I had been working a lot of extra hours lately and was looking forward to a night at home and finally cooking for myself. Instead, I had to go to Costco to get a nail pulled out of my tire. Instead of eating delicious vegetables, I was there having a polish sausage and a soda. I did come home and make myself eat some corn, but it felt like a dinner fail.

My counter was filled with tomatoes and peaches and other things I was worried would spoil before I could get to them. It was almost 8 p.m., but I remembered the cake and how easy it is to make and decided to whip up a quick cake using my last two peaches. I had thought to do a combination of peach and blueberry, but I never got around to getting blueberries and I’m not sure how frozen berries would work in this recipe so I went with straight peach.

I didn’t have the buttermilk it requires, so I did the substitute: ½ cup milk with ½ T vinegar and then let sit 5-10 minutes before using. On the peaches, to give them a little more oomph, I added some cinnamon. I didn’t add sugar since the top of the cake gets dusted with sugar. I also didn’t want the peach juices to start running too much since I didn’t want the cake to get soggy.

PhotoGrid_1409028933402

Once the cake was in the pan, I put in as many peaches as seemed prudent, topped as directed with a dusting of sugar, and put it in the oven. It smelled so good, I had to have a piece before bedtime even though it meant eating too late.

PhotoGrid_1409029073950

Some went to the office the next day and part became dinner.

My friend came over two nights after it was baked and we finished it off – still moist, still delicious. We added a little whipped cream for flair, but it didn’t need it.

This is a recipe to try! To keep! I keep thinking of autumn versions. Maybe pears and nuts. Maybe bourbon soaked cherries. Lots of options still to try on the yummiest, basic buttermilk cake.

Leave a Reply

