Simple pasta with fresh tomatoes!

I’ve been cooking a lot but not writing. Not sure why… Full moon? Heat for sure! Working too much? Definitely.

I’ve also been eating simply by either bbq-ing veggies in just olive oil, salt and pepper or raw in salads.

image

Yesterday was market day and as usual, I over bought tomatoes. While they’re available and delicious, I make no apologies even though it’s a race against time to use them all. This is a problem I like to have.

image

I was thinking about a recipe I saw last summer where you make pasta with tomatoes and basil in one pot instead of pasta in one pot and sauce in another. I had heard of this technique years ago, maybe on the Splendid Table on NPR. You make a sauce with extra liquid (using broth as an example) and then add pasta and cook it risotto-style. It means stirring often and adding more liquid if necessary. Cooked this way, the pasta starch thickens the sauce and the pasta has a slightly chewier texture. After trying it once, I was doing it a lot for a while.

Like a lot of things, you forget about it eventually.  Enter the Martha Stewart recipe.

It makes enough for 4 but I didn’t want so much left over, so I cut the recipe in half. Except for tomatoes. I used the full amount of tomatoes since I had them. And because I love tomatoes.

image

image

It’s easy. Into one pot, you put in the uncooked linguini, the cherry tomatoes cut in half, the thinly sliced onion and garlic, and the fresh basil, salt, pepper, chili flakes and olive oil. That’s it. Turn on the heat, bring it to a boil, stir often, and in about 8-10 minutes, you have pasta. You need to keep the heat a little high to encourage it to evaporate. The linguini absorbs most of the water.

image

To serve, put it into bowls with whatever “sauce” remains, top with cheese, more basil and a little olive oil and serve. Mine needed a bit more salt, so taste to adjust seasonings.

image

It takes a few more minutes to prep the ingredients than it does to cook the pasta. For a busy Sunday, it was perfect. Warm and satisfying without heating up my kitchen or destroying the great fresh tomato flavor.

Original recipe:

June 2013 Martha Stewart Living

image

Leave a Reply

