The roasted flavors of fall

image

It was a beautiful day in Oregon — the colors and crispness of fall with the blue sky and warmth of late summer. It’s the kind of day that makes it hard to think about living anywhere else.

It was also Saturday. Our outdoor farmers market goes until the end of October so I knew I was heading there. We had beautiful striped and solid red beets this week from the farm (Pitchfork & Crow) plus I had half a head of fresh garlic from a previous week.  If nothing else, I knew I was going to roast those.

image

I found lovely things at the market: yellow cauliflower (Persephone farm) and juicy carrots (Minto farm).

image

image

I decided to roast them with some rosemary from my garden. Caramelizing vegetables makes them sweet and flavorful without a lot of extra anything.

I chopped everything about the same size but left the cauliflower a bit bigger since it cooks faster. I split everything into two pans so as not to crowd the vegetables, tossed them with a little olive oil, salt, pepper, and the rosemary.

image

image

image

Both pans went into a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes. I took them out, stirred them, and put them in for another 20 minutes.

image

image

The veggies were tender and very caramelized. I tossed everything together in one bowl, added a flavorful olive oil (the oil I use when I know I’ll taste the oil!), and more fresh pepper. That alone would have been delicious.

image

Gilding the lily, I added some feta cheese. Soooooo good! The salty creaminess of the cheese melting slightly with the warm, sweet vegetables was the perfect combination.

Happy fall vegetables!!

image

Leave a Reply

