Cider day! (and a pear juice cocktail)

image

Yesterday, the kind folks at Pitchfork and Crow invited all of its CSA customers out for cider pressing, pumpkin picking and a potluck. This yearly fall gathering is always a lot of fun and we head home with yummy apple cider.

This year I had to go late so I missed the apples, but I was in time for Asian pears and Bartlett pears. Hurrah. Something new!

image

I spent most of my time in a chair chatting with new people and good friends and enjoying the amazing October sunshine.  I did end up with a half gallon each of each type of pear cider.

 

imageIMG_20141019_172619

 

It was great to watch Jeff give kids tractor rides. And to see kids try to carry pumpkins that were bigger than them. To scrounge up a few tomatoes in the hoop house for a recipe I want to try. Watching folks make “brooms” out of sunflower stalks and dried herbs like mint and field flowers.  A great day all around!

PhotoGrid_1413764723197image

 

*****

Fortified with lots of pear cider, I had to come up with a plan. I froze most of the Bartlett pear juice (it’s sweeter than the Asian pear) for later.  I decided to think of creative drinks for the Asian pear cider. I know many intend to ferment it, but I’m not that patient. I want the cocktail now.

Today I made a “pear martini-rita.” In a jar, I put in:

4 ice cubes
3/4 c. Asian pear juice
2 oz. Vodka
A generous squeeze of lemon

I shook this in the jar (my improved cocktail shaker) and poured it into a glass I had rimmed in sugar like a margarita. I topped with a little fizzy water for some bubbles. It was fresh from the pear and not too sweet.

Happy autumn in Oregon!

image

Leave a Reply

