A stir-fry sauce for many occasions

Years ago I found a recipe for something called three colored rice (three color gohan).  The concept was pretty simple.  Over rice, you would have three colors of food laid out in strips. One section would be steamed green beans or snap peas.  One would be scrambled egg that was cut into thin strips.  One section would be ground beef flavored with a mixture of soy sauce, sake, and sugar.  The person eating it could then mix it together but the presentation would be lovely because each section was contained and a lovely color of green, yellow, or brown.035

I’ve made it a number of times but unless I’m trying to impress someone, I rarely do the three sections.  I also vary the vegetables depending on what I have.  Sometimes I do the egg, sometimes I don’t.

The one constant is the sauce.  I really liked the sauce and added a bit of teriyaki to it to make my own variation.

  • 3 T soy sauce
  • 2 T teriyaki sauce
  • 4 T sake
  • 1 T sugar
  • 1 T water

Most of the time I just saute my meat and vegetables together, add in the sauce, and then serve over rice.  Sometimes I’ll fry up an egg and cut it into strips to serve on top.  If I’m making a lot, I might make a double batch of the sauce, but I usually keep the proportions the same.

Recently we had a bounty of vegetables so I decided to use the sauce and some ground turkey to make a big batch of this to eat over several days.   I had onion and leek, red cabbage, and a mixture of yellow and orange carrots and some pink radishes.  Add to that, some lovely greens.  I figured it could all benefit from an asian stir-fry preparation. 007014016025026031

After chopping everything, it was simply a matter of sauteing the turkey (removing from the pan), sauteing the vegetables, adding back the turkey and the greens, and then coating everything in the sauce.

032Once done, it was delicious over rice and served up as fantastic leftovers as well!

Leave a Reply

