Rhubarb jam!!

128I’m really taken with the technique in my 3-day jam that was inspired by another blogger’s multiple-day jam, but now I’ve got it down to 2-day jam where the first day is chopping and sugaring and the second day is the cooking.  Since I don’t use pectin, it’s a bit of a battle between the reduction of liquid and the overcooking of the fruit.  By adding sugar and lemon/lime to fruit one day, letting it sit 24 hours, and then draining off and boiling the liquid first, it has simplified my no-pectin jam making and keeps the fruit a little fresher.

125I wanted to make a straight rhubarb jam.  I cut up just under 4 pounds of rhubarb, added 3 c. of sugar and the juice of 2 limes and threw it covered into the refrigerator to sleep.  On day two, I drained off the sweet rhubarb-sugar liquid and boiled it about 30 – 40 minutes.  At that point, I added in the fruit and scraped in any undissolved sugar from the bottom of the bowl.

It didn’t really have to cook that long before the rhubarb was soft and breaking down and the whole mixture was thick-ish looking.  In fact, in the time it took me to heat my giant stock pot of water with the jars and boil them for 10 minutes to sterilize, I had finished the whole boiling liquid and cooking 138fruit process!  I had jam.

Each jar is in the water bath for 10 minutes and then they cool on the counter for 24 hours.

It’s so simple and I like the results.  I might be doing all of my jam making this way from now on.

BTW:  Rhubarb jam turns out to be delicious on top of cheese and crackers.  I had a gathering where I had blue cheese, a goat brie, and sharp cheddar cheese.  The jam was sweet and tart and paired well with all three cheeses.  Amazing!!

******

In other news, this appears to be my 100th post!  Thanks to Insil who got me started on this project.

Leave a Reply

